Fermenting …. Cultured Sour Cream and Crème Fraîche

I alway like making my own cultured dairy. I know what all of the ingredients are, they have wonderful live cultures and no thickeners or preservatives or thickeners. I haven’t tried to, like yoghurt, use it as a start for subsequent batches but I think I’ll give it a go this time.

Ingredients

Instructions

  • Heat a quart of half-n-half to 86º
  • Divide the half-n-half into two glass containers
  • Sprinkle 1/2 packet of sour cream culture on to one, 1/2 packet of créme fraîche culture on the other and let them rehydrate for 2 minutes
  • Stir each well to dissolve the cultures (rinsing spoon between cultures)
  • Cover (not tightly) and rest in a warm spot for 12-24 hours (mine is about 68°)
  • Store in the refrigerator when thickened

Leave a comment