Huckleberry Jam

These huckleberries were from our own garden. They grew from a huckleberry plant that was a gift from our dear friend Mike at Willamette Valley Lavender. This is the first year they have had enough berries to make a batch of jam. I bought a berry rake online and was able to get about 4 cups of huckleberries – perfect for a batch of jam.
So I accidentally bought low/no sugar pectin. I’d never tried it before, and I didn’t like the texture as I was spooning it into the jars but we’ll see how it turns out. I can always give it another shot next year.

Ingredients:

  • 4 cups huckleberries – cleaned and stemmed
  • 1.5 c sugar
  • 3.5 T low sugar pectin
  • 1.5 c + 2 T orange juice
  • 2 T lemon juice

Instructions

  • Combine berries, juices and butter in a large pot over medium heat.
  • Heat to a boil that cannot be stirred down.
  • Add the sugar and stir to combine.
  • Heat to a boil for 1 minute
  • Remove from the heat, ladle into 1/2 pint jars and process for 10 minutes in a water bath.

Leave a comment