Fruit Scrap Cider Vinegar …. Pear and Apple

We were a little occupied with dog-things this autumn and were a little late picking apples and quince. I did manage to salvage a few that the bugs and deer didn’t damage too much, Hubby decided to make a batch of Quince liqueur and I used the apples for applesauce. The scraps from the quince went into the compost, but I started a batch of Apple Cider Vinegar. I also started a batch of Pear-Ginger Cider Vinegar when I made the Pear Sauce with Maple and GInger later in the afternoon.

To start the vinegar, I just stuff all of the peels and cores into a clean gallon jar, add 1/2 cup of sugar and cover it with water. Then I cover the jar with a coffee filter held tight with a rubber band.

Set the jar in a spot out of direct sunlight and wait a couple of weeks. After that I strain out the solids, add a couple of tablespoons of raw cider vinegar for a starter and set it aside for another month or two.

The pH of this vinegar is unpredictable so, while it is great for cooking and salad dressing, it is not appropriate for canning or preserving.

Leave a comment