Bird Feeders …. Make Do and Mend

This spring I’d like to try my hand at bringing some more birds to our property. The first problem is that we have squirrels- – hungry, voracious, clever, acrobatic squirrels. I tried putting feed in our old platform feeder last spring and was disappointed when 2 cups of seed, disappeared overnight. The second problem is that squirrel resistant bird feeders are so expensive ($50-$100).

I started to check FB Marketplace, Craigslist, Amazon, other random websites and, after a couple of weeks, I hit the jackpot. I found a lady about an hour and a half south of us selling a squirrel resistant feeder, a thistle feeder and even a sprinkler – all for $25. The feeders both need some cleaning, but were saving money and keeping things out of the land fill.

The Thistle Feeder

The thistle feeder was pretty easy, it just needed a bit of a brush and wash.

The Big Feeder

The big feeder is another matter. I’m taking the big feeder apart, soaking, scrubbing and maybe even doing a bit of touch up painting.

The thistle feeder would have cost about $25 and the Big Feeder about $130. The sprinkler sells for another $40. All in, our $25 investment (with some gas money) would have cost up $195 a savings of 87%.

Leave a comment