Garden 2024 …. From the Dollar Tree

I do try to cut back on plastic in our home and garden, but every so often I do make a few purchases to try something out in the garden. These pots are pretty good quality so I hope I’ll be able to use them for several years to grow food for our family.

Several months ago I watched a video about an amazing zero-waste self-sustaining home designed by Joost Bake in Australia. One of the things I noticed was an exterior porch wall completely covered in edible plants. I wanted to try something similar and have been on the lookout for an affordable solution. I found these pots at the dollar store ($1.25 each), added some herbs I started in the garage and have them hanging on our cattle panel fence.

I have a lot of strawberry starts that have reached out into the paths of the vegetable garden. This morning I dug out 18 of them and planted them into a set of six stacking pots thatI picked up at Dollar Tree ($7.50 for six). I’ve seen these all over YouTube and Instagram so I thought I’d give them a try.

Leave a comment