Pillow Covers in Storage …. Make Do & Mend

We purchased these Sit/Stay pillow covers years ago at an estate sale. They are really heavy hooked wool designed in Vermont by Laura Megroz for Chandler 4 Corners (I looked all of that up after we brought them home) . I remember thinking about them for a long while and feeling really guilty about spending the thirty or so dollars they were asking for the pair but the light dog looked like our Labrador mix, so home they came.

The pillow were great, but after a few months on the couch with real dogs, they were a bit of a mess. Embedded with yellow Labrador and White Maremma (dog #2) fur, the pillows also snagged easily so, after some time, they ended up in a storage cupboard. Too cute and too expensive to throw away, they wallowed in the cupboard for years.

This year I ran into a YouTube video that showed how to fix dropped stitches in knitting and also how to weave in the yarn ends so I decided to try something. I picked up a small crochet hook and began weaving the loose, snagged yarn from the pillows into the loops of yarn. I’m no worse off if the snagged yarns don’t stay, but if they do,I have two of my favorite pillows back – upstairs in the master this time – away from the dogs.

I must admit that I was more motivated to Make-Do and Mend when I found out that the pillows are still available and are priced from $99 – $129 each. I’ve had them for years no so I guess I can stop feeling so guilty about spending $35 at the sale.

Leave a comment